Skip to Content

14 Books Similar to Where the Crawdads Sing

Sharing is caring!

Are you looking for another book like Where the Crawdads Sing?

We understand! Delia Owens created a modern masterpiece of a novel that tugged at our hearts too.

Melissa resisted reading it, not sure she would love the tale of a girl growing up in a swamp. Within a few chapters, she understood that the hype was real and that it was a New York Times Best Seller for good reason.

We both loved the book so much that we didn’t want it to end and were afraid whatever we read next would be a disappointment!

Book to Read After Where the Crawdads Sing w/ Book Cover

We didn’t want you to have the same experience, so we’ve gathered some good books to read after Where the Crawdads Sing. We started with 9 options, but are now up to 14 great novels for you to enjoy.

Whether you’re looking for beautiful writing, stories that incorporate nature, or tales of children forced to grow up too soon, we have suggestions for you below!

As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, we may earn a referral fee from qualifying purchases.

If You Liked Where the Crawdads Sing, Add These Books To Your List

The response to this post was so great that we made a follow-up. Click here for 11 More Books for Fans of Where the Crawdads Sing!

Irene Watson

Sunday 14th of November 2021

Just discovered this site, I live in the North East of England and during the pandemic read and read which I only used to do o holiday. Where the crawdads sing was my favourite book of all time. Thankyou for the list I have sent my daughters a few off your list for Xmas. X

Rachel A

Monday 11th of October 2021

This was exactly the article I was looking for! I reconnected with nature and myself while reading Crawdads. I was eager for similar books, and I ended up reading it twice in one year. Now I have your list! Thank you!

Alyce

Wednesday 1st of September 2021

I liked Where The Crawdads Sing, however I had many problems with it. Definitely too long. The trial bothered me, because (In my opinion) it was just a rehash of the story. I really didn’t think it was edited well. Loved Before We were yours and of course a Girl of the Limberlost is a classic. Thanks for the list, I will check them out.

Robin

Tuesday 17th of August 2021

“The Highest Tide” by Jim Lynch is one I always recommend after Crawdads. Same use of nature as a character, and a similar sort of coming of age themes. It’s a beautiful book too!

Libby

Sunday 15th of August 2021

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek needs to be on this list. It's so beautiful and has similar themes.

shares