Skip to Content

25 Books Similar to Where the Crawdads Sing

Sharing is caring!

Are you looking for the best books like Where the Crawdads Sing?

We understand! Delia Owens’ debut novel is a modern masterpiece of a novel that tugged at our hearts too. It’s also a New York Times bestseller, and the book has now been adapted into a hit movie by Reese Witherspoon.

This coming-of-age novel is about a marsh girl growing up in a South Carolina swamp. At the same time, it’s a murder mystery and a courtroom drama. We both loved the story of Kya Clark so much that we didn’t want it to end and were afraid whatever we read next would be a disappointment!

We didn’t want you to have the same experience, so we’ve gathered some similar books to Where the Crawdads Sing.

Three diagonal book covers in a row - Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstances, Where the Crawdads Sing, and Magic Hour

Is There a Sequel to Where the Crawdads Sing?

Sadly, there is no sequel to Kya’s story. However, whether you’re looking for beautiful writing, stories incorporating nature, or tales of children forced to grow up too soon, we have a highly-rated list of book recommendations for you! We updated this list of similar books in 2022 after the release of the movie.

As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, we may earn a referral fee from qualifying purchases.

25 Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing

If you loved the first part of Crawdads when Kya was younger, check out our list of books with child protagonists next. Or if the teen years are your favorite, with have a whole list of books with teenage main characters!

Love reading as much as we do?
Join us for more free content, reading challenges, & discussion in the Book Girls’ Guide Facebook Group!

Jerri

Saturday 17th of December 2022

I've read eight of these books and Educated is by far my favorite.

Stephanie

Friday 2nd of September 2022

An author I've recommended to those who liked Crawdads is Charles Martin. Several of his books are set in river/marsh locations and are heavy on scene description along with heavy topics like Crawdads explored. He's a great author to check out!

Dovie Biggerstaff Carrell

Saturday 27th of August 2022

I would add "One for the Blackbird. One for the Crow" to this list. It has been my favorite read of 2022. Has a very similar vibe to "Crawdads".

Jamie

Monday 15th of August 2022

Another book I recently read that really reminded me of Where the Crawdads Sing was called Chasing Fireflies by Charles Martin. It’s a mystery and a life lesson rolled into one. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Tara

Wednesday 13th of July 2022

I read several of your suggested titles and enjoyed them all, especially Before We Were Yours. Another good one to add to the list is The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek.