Skip to Content

20 Books Like It Ends With Us

Sharing is caring!

We both recently, somewhat reluctantly, read It Ends with Us by author Colleen Hoover. While the book has phenomenal ratings, we went in concerned about a romance novel with themes of domestic abuse, afraid it wouldn’t be a great role model for young women. And while reading, we both wanted to throw the book across the room at points.

Yet, somehow, by the end of this emotional read, we joined those anxiously waiting for the long-anticipated sequel, It Starts With Us, scheduled for release in October 2022.

Before we get to the list of books similar to It Ends With Us, we wanted to do a quick synopsis for anyone who hasn’t read it yet.

The book follows two major periods in the life of Lily Bloom. First, as a teenager, when she notices one of her classmates, Atlas, sleeping in the unoccupied house behind hers. When she begins sneaking him food, they develop a friendship that leads quickly to deep first love. Lily’s life at home isn’t perfect, but everything feels right with Atlas. When they are separated, they vow to find each other again as adults.

Years later, on the day of Lily’s father’s funeral, she has a chance encounter with a gorgeous neurosurgeon, Ryle Kincaid. Despite Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships, he has a total soft spot for Lily. From the first time he sees her, he can’t get her out of his mind. Lily is busy trying to set up her own business, but when they run into each other again, she’s also intrigued.

We want you to enjoy the twist and turns of Colleen Hoover’s book on your own, so we won’t share any more of the plot. Just know that this captivating romance is also a heartbreaking novel that tackles important issues.

Be sure to read the author’s note at the end of the book. It explains the author’s relationship to the difficult subject matter. After reading, you’ll know how she was able to write something with such an emotional punch.

One other important note is that we feel the writing style shines in audio form. While reading part of the book on Kindle, Melissa felt that while the story was page-turning, the writing wasn’t as strong. However, when she switched to listening, all the weaker parts suddenly worked perfectly and felt authentic. This is especially true with longer sections of dialogue. Angela listened to the audiobook from start to finish and was hooked throughout. So if you enjoy audiobooks, we highly recommend that format.

Both the Kindle and audio versions of It Ends With Us are included with Kindle Unlimited as of 4/12/22.

Book Cover of It Ends with Us - text in magenta over pink backgrounds with subtle flowers

Now that we’ve recapped, let’s dig into the best books to read if you like It Ends With Us!

Books Like It Ends With Us

We've tried to steer clear of spoilers while still explaining why these are great books to read after It Ends With Us, but if you haven't read IEWU yet, and you want to go in knowing as little as possible, then you might want to bookmark this list for later.

Are there any other similar books like It Ends With Us that you recommend? Let us know in the comments!

For more books with characters in similar stages of life, check out our Main Characters in their 20s post next!

Judith Brenner

Thursday 21st of April 2022

Hello, I love your lists and invite you to read THE MOMENTS BETWEEN DREAMS (see advanced copy on NetGalley or contact my publicist for an ARC paperback to ship to you both). Why read The Moments Between Dreams:      The timely themes of the novel blend a backdrop of war, a virus, and an increase of domestic violence during the 1940s-50s that parallel issues relevant today. The novel follows Carol and her disabled daughter as they rally to walk together, drive a car, work, and gain liberties that women are held back from during the times. A hot-tempered husband/father make things difficult, making an escape paramount. I certainly will buy you coffees if you consider this in your WWII 1940s list and the list if readers like Colleen Hoover's It Ends With Us. The Moments Between Dreams debuts May 17, 2022 and has been ordered by bookstores in LaGuardia (The Strand); and independent bookstores in the Midwest.

https://www.edelweiss.plus/#sku=1626349339&page=1 https://www.netgalley.com/catalog/book/250184 Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59652288-the-moments-between-dreams

Author website: judithfbrenner.com

I welcome both of you to my book launch event May 24 online: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/virtual-book-launch-judith-brenner-the-moments-between-dreams-a-novel-tickets-310776620237

shares