Skip to Content

Home / Rom Com & Romance / Books Like The Hating Game

Books Like The Hating Game

Even years after its initial publication, we still see people regularly asking for romance books similar to The Hating Game by debut author Sally Thorne, and we can see why. It’s a staple in the enemies-to-lovers sub-genre while also adding in the element of office romance.

In fact, the workplace relationship between the main characters, executive assistants Joshua Templeman and Lucy Hutton, in this sexy romantic comedy has been such a hit that you can now stream The Hating Game movie.

The Hating Game novel cover in front of palm trees and blue skies

The Hating Game Book Summary

In The Hating Game, we’re introduced to Lucy and Josh, two colleagues who can’t stand each other. They work together at a publishing company, but their rivalry goes far beyond a typical work dynamic. They constantly compete for promotions and recognition, and their animosity is palpable. But when a promotion they both want becomes available, the game changes.

As they spend more time with each other, their feelings begin to shift. The hate they once felt transforms into something else entirely, and they’re left wondering if their animosity was really just a cover for something deeper.

The Hating Game Book Review

The plot of this rom com is full of delightful twists and turns, keeping readers on their toes until the very end. We loved the sizzling chemistry and the sassy banter. It’s the perfect blend of humor, romance, and character development, making it a must-read for fans of the hate-to-love trope.

The Hating Game Audiobook

Audible listeners rate this book 4.6 stars for the narration by Katie Schorr. Book Girl Angela, who listens to audiobooks for the majority of her reading, enjoyed the audiobook of The Hating Game, but would have liked it better with dual narration for the two different points of view. Nonetheless, Schorr did a good job with both the female and male voices.

Books Similar to The Hating Game

With their relatable and flawed characters, witty and endearing writing, and heartwarming stories, rom-com novels like The Hating Game are a delightful way to spend your downtime. They offer a glimpse into the lives of people we can identify with, who are experiencing the trials and tribulations of falling in love. These novels provide the perfect blend of humor, romantic tension, and heartwarming moments that leave us smiling.

Is The Hating Game Movie As Good As the Book?

The Hating Game movie has a 4.4 out of 5 rating on Amazon, while the book comes out slightly ahead with a 4.5 rating. The movie does a great job of building up the tension between the characters until things erupt, just like the novel. However, we believe that overall, the book was better!

Text over book covers, 9 Must-Read Books for Fans of the Hating Game

RELATED POSTS

FIND YOUR PERFECT BOOK LIST

Angela & Melissa

The Book Girls are best friends who jointly read over 200 books per year. We started Book Girls' Guide in 2019 to help others de-stress and find joy through the power of a great book. We do in-depth research on thousands of novels and non-fiction titles each year to provide curated book lists covering a variety of genres.

Cozy Fall Romance Books & Rom Coms for 2023

Wednesday 6th of September 2023

[…] Kindle Unlimited as of: 08/22/2023 Amazon Enemies to Lovers […]

Follow Along on Social Media

Looking for your next great read? Try one of the highly-rated titles from our curated book lists.