Skip to Content

Best Book Series for Adults

Sharing is caring!

When we decided to write a post about the best book series for adults, we thought it was the perfect opportunity to ask our voracious readers for help. And wow did they come through! We had almost 300 people share their favorite adult book series and why they loved it.

We sorted through all the results and narrowed down the list based on the books that had multiple recommendations from different readers. You’ll see a mix of the most popular book series for adults and some lesser-known surprises!

Text over book covers reading "Best Book Series for Adults"

Each series has an entry, below, that includes everything you’ll need to pick a good book series that matches your reading preferences. For example, we note whether each book is a stand-alone, sequential series, or somewhere in between.

With a stand-alone series, you can pick up any book and read it without reading the prior installments. A sequential series means that the books must be read in order, for example, the end of each book has a cliff-hanger that isn’t resolved until the next book, or certain aspects of the novel won’t make sense without knowing the backstory.

We also included the number of books currently available in each series, as well as links to the first book and latest book available.  

As we researched good book series for adults, one common thread emerged regardless of the genre. The first book is usually lower-rated than the second. While several factors probably play into that phenomenon, keep it in mind if you’re debating whether to continue reading a series after book one. Because you and the author both already know the characters, the second might be a more enjoyable read.

As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, we may earn a referral fee from qualifying purchases.

Best Book Series for Adults

Everyone on our email list had an opportunity to submit their favorite series for this post. If you’d like to share your favorite reads for future reader favorite posts, sign up for our newsletter below!

Karen Fontaine

Friday 25th of March 2022

Have you considered the Brooch Series by Katherine Lowry Logan? It is one of my favorites. I have read most of the series mentioned in your article.


Tuesday 1st of March 2022

I was surprised to not see the Bosch series by Michael Connelly here. It is a fantastic series with great characters. It is set in California and Harry Bosch is a detective that goes through a myriad of challenges within his career as a detective. There is love, loss and lots of excitement. P. S. The Lincoln Lawyer is his half brother and once in a while you will see Mickey Haller show up as a lawyer on one of Bosch's cases. Good series.


Sunday 20th of February 2022

I, too, missed the opportunity to recommend one of my all time favorite authors - William Kent Krueger. His Cork O'Connor series is one of those you can't quit thinking about. In fact, I may now have to start over with book one - Iron Lake.

Penny Sansbury

Tuesday 8th of February 2022

I would add the Dave Robichaux books by James Lee Burke with a caution that they can sometimes be a bit violent

Toni Hill

Friday 4th of February 2022

I somehow missed the opportunity to contribute! I love the Lady Hardcastle (T E Kinsey) series; the Cat Who mysteries (Lillian Jackson Braun), the Aunt Dimity series (Nancy Atherton), Thrush Green series (Miss Read), and the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter (Susan Wittig Albert)!

Melissa George

Friday 4th of February 2022

Thanks for sharing them here! We're planning on doing one questionnaire per month for readers to submit their favorite books for different themes so you'll have plenty more opportunities this year! They'll be linked in the emails, with the next one being next Friday.