Skip to Content

Books Like The Nightingale

Sharing is caring!

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is an unforgettable historical fiction novel about the experience of two sisters in France during World War II.

It blends two different true events together in a way that gave us a new perspective about life in France throughout the early 40s.

While an older sister is forced to host a German officer in her home, her younger rebellious sister joins the resistance movement and makes heroic efforts to help British and American soldiers who parachute into France after their planes are disabled.

Books Liks The Nightingale (text over book cover)

When looking for books similar to The Nightingale, we were most drawn to the different stories of women’s vital roles and experiences during this tragic time.

As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, we may earn a referral fee from qualifying purchases.

13 Books for Fans of the Nightingale - text over book cover


Women's History Month Books to Read in 2022: Non-fiction - Book Girls' Guide

Wednesday 2nd of March 2022

[…] set in different decades or books set around the world. Additionally, our Books Like City of Girls, Books for Fans of the Nightingale, and WW2 Resistance Worker book recommendations are especially heavy on amazing woman […]

Lee Kaplan

Thursday 24th of February 2022

I loved The Nightingale, The Book Thief (which I bought…rare for me), Winter Garden (stunning revelation), and All the Light We Cannot See (heartbreaking). I look forward to reading many of the other books on this list. Do you have a similar list for those of us who loved The Night Circus? Never knew magical realism was a genre.

Nickie

Wednesday 9th of February 2022

Just joined! I had already read 2 of them before I got the list. Absolutely loved The Nightingale. I also read The Things We Can Not say. I have read a few books by Kelly Rimmer and really enjoyed them!

I’m so glad I have found this list Thank you

Mrunal Natu

Sunday 23rd of May 2021

Just what I needed. I was heart-broken after I finished the Nightingale and was looking for another book just as good.

Books Set in Western Europe - Book Girls' Guide

Monday 8th of March 2021

[…] find some great options on these lists: Books Set in the 1910s, Books Set in the 1940s, and Books Like the Nightingale.Throughout the list, we noted those book currently available as part of the Kindle Unlimited […]

shares