Skip to Content

Books Like The Nightingale

Sharing is caring!

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is an unforgettable historical fiction novel about the experience of two sisters in France during World War II.

It blends two different true events together in a way that gave us a new perspective about life in France throughout the early 40s.

While an older sister is forced to host a German officer in her home, her younger rebellious sister joins the resistance movement and makes heroic efforts to help British and American soldiers who parachute into France after their planes are disabled.

Books Liks The Nightingale (text over book cover)

When looking for books similar to The Nightingale, we were most drawn to the different stories of women’s vital roles and experiences during this tragic time.

As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, we may earn a referral fee from qualifying purchases.

13 Books for Fans of the Nightingale - text over book cover


Mrunal Natu

Sunday 23rd of May 2021

Just what I needed. I was heart-broken after I finished the Nightingale and was looking for another book just as good.

Books Set in Western Europe - Book Girls' Guide

Monday 8th of March 2021

[…] find some great options on these lists: Books Set in the 1910s, Books Set in the 1940s, and Books Like the Nightingale.Throughout the list, we noted those book currently available as part of the Kindle Unlimited […]

Kathy Coaker

Tuesday 9th of February 2021

Thanks for the list. I have read more than half of them! I have a few on my Kindle, waiting to be read and now I several more to add to my TBR list!

Jerri Patton

Sunday 3rd of January 2021

If you like books about WWII, you'll like 'Torn Lilacs' by Henry Michalski, it's a wonderful book about his parents. https://www.amazon.com/Torn-Lilacs-True-Story-Defiance/dp/B08L3XCCK9/ref=sr_1_1?crid=SALG8N3J85F6&dchild=1&keywords=torn+lilacs&qid=1609635229&s=books&sprefix=torn+lil%2Cstripbooks%2C223&sr=1-1

B SUllivan

Friday 24th of July 2020

All great reads...

Mary

Monday 27th of July 2020

Thank you for this list! I have read only a couple, but intend to read most of these!

shares